



## CCA Elects New Leadership for 2025–2026

March 21, 2025

The Canadian Cattle Association completed its 2025 Annual General Meeting on Thursday, March 20, 2025 in Ottawa with a number of events, meetings and election of a new Board of Directors.

Tyler Fulton of Birtle, Manitoba moves into the president position taking over from Nathan Phinney of Sackville, New Brunswick who remains on the Board in the past president position. Sheila Hillmer and Doug Roxborough of Alberta and Jack Chaffe of Ontario retired from the Board. Past President Bob Lowe is also retired from the Board. CCA thanks them for their time and contributions.

Many issues were addressed in meetings as a rapidly changing environment faces Canadian cattle producers and all of Canadian agriculture. The Ottawa meeting location allowed many guests to join, including beef producers from nearby provinces and across the country. The Honourable Kody Blois brought greetings and well wishes at the retirement dinner on Wednesday evening in honour of past president Nathan Phinney. Phinney retired from the president position Wednesday evening after 27 months.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada representatives presented at committee meetings and CCA was pleased to learn about steps being taken to reduce regulatory burdens that will support the Canadian beef sector and grow our global competitiveness—an announcement that was made on March 19, 2025.

Canadian Food Inspection Agency representatives and Canadian Cattle Identification Agency General Manager Ashley Scott presented at the Animal Health and Care Committee; Kent Bacus, National Cattlemen's Beef Association presented at the Domestic Agriculture, Food Policy and Foreign Trade Committee Meetings; and Tyler McCann of the Canadian Agriculture Policy Institute presented at the Domestic Agriculture Committee meeting.

The Livestock Markets Association of Canada has been welcomed as an associated organization member of the Canadian Cattle Association.

## 2025–2026 CCA Board of Director Representatives:

Tyler Fulton (President)—MB Ryan Beierbach (Vice President)—SK Nathan Phinney (Past President)—NB Kirk Jackson (Officer)—QC Renee Ardill—BC Matthew Atkinson—MB

Mike Duguid—MB

Lynn Grant—SK

Brodie Haugan—AB



## **News Release**

Karla Hicks—SK Jason LeBlond—ON Craig McLaughlin—ON Victor Oulton—NS, NB, PEI Graham Overguard—AB

CCA's producer-elected board provides leadership to set the direction to propel the industry forward with a national voice at federal and international levels on matters of importance to the Canadian beef industry. The Board represents nine Canadian provinces and all sectors and stages of beef production.

For further information, contact:

Tina Zakowsky Communications Manager Canadian Cattle Association 403-451-0931 | <u>zakowskyt@cattle.ca</u>